Off to camp, with a bag full of books.

First: oops, I got extremely sidetracked by the end of the semester. However, all final exams have been completed, all papers edited and turned in, and everything moved out of my apartment on campus and back home.

While I will miss Boston during the summer, I can visit, and besides, it’s nice to see a bit more nature. I’ve been home a little more than two weeks, and I’m still loving all the trees. I went for a walk through the woods/along the Charles last week. It was beautiful out. One of my favorite shots from the walk...I took some pictures, despite my camera being somewhat broken now. (The screen is cracked, and there is no other viewfinder, so everything was taken a bit blindly.)

I think, after unpacking the last box of stuff I haphazardly stuffed into my closet when I got home, I finally have everything put away and organized and I can start to relax and enjoy this summer vacation…

Which brings me to the second, and main point, of this post: I’m going to camp. Not a real camp, mind you, but Camp NaNoWriMo. If you’re familiar with NaNoWrimo, National Novel Writing Month, Camp Nano is much the same. It just takes place in the summer, for those who can’t commit in November or just want an excuse to ingest large amounts of caffeine and stay up until all hours of the night writing. The premise is this: write a 50,000 word novel in a month. Sounds easy enough, right? So, this June, I will be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo. That means that starting this Friday, June 1, until 11:59:59 PM on June 30, I will be writing, writing, and writing some more. About what? Well, I have no idea. I have yet to go into a NaNoWriMo month knowing what I’m going to be writing about. It’s part of the excitement, though. Who knows what I’ll end up with when the clock strikes midnight? It could be a pile of crap. It could be… slightly less than crap. It’ll be a lot of work, but I’ve got some spare time, so I figure, why not? I’ll try to update here as my writing progresses. (And Camp NaNo runs again in August, so maybe I will do it again then!)

Of course, I can’t just focus on writing. I’ve got a whole list of books that I want to read this summer. I’ve come up with a list to help me keep track. They are as follows:

Books I am currently reading:

  • Sphere, Michael Crichton
  • The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
  • The Geographer’s Library, Jon Fasman

Books I have yet to start:

  • Rozencratz and Guildenstern Are Dead, Tom Stoppard
  • Waiting for the Barbarians, JM Coetzee
  • When You Are Engulfed in Flames, David Sedaris
  • The Tiger’s Wife, Tea Obreht
  • The Silence of the Lambs, Thomas Harris
  • A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, Mark Twain
  • The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Books I have previously read all or most of and want to reread/finish:
  • Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
  • On the Road, Jack Kerouac
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, JK Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, JK Rowling
  • The Hobbit, JRR Tolkien

If all goes well, I’ll have made some progress on my very big stacks of unread books this summer and I won’t feel so guilty for having bought them all.

Leave a Reply

